Wednesday, April 16, 2008

2008 Orange Prize for Fiction Shortlist

ESTABLISHED IN 1996, the Orange Prize for Fiction (now known as the Orange Broadband Prize for Fiction) has always courted controversy over the years. Despite what its detractors say, the prize, according to the organisers, is still very much a celebration of women’s fiction. This time seven first-time novelists are up against some of the most celebrated women writers in the English language such as Stella Duffy, Jennifer Egan, Anne Enright, Linda Grant, Tessa Hadley, Nancy Huston, Gail Jones, Charlotte Mendelson, Deborah Moggach, Anita Nair, Elif Shafak, Scarlett Thomas and Rose Tremain. The seven first-time authors are Anita Amirrezvani, Sadie Jones, Lauren Liebenberg, Heather O’Neill, Dalia Sofer, Carol Topolski and Patricia Wood. Anne Enright’s The Gathering won the Man Booker Prize for Fiction in 2007. Linda Grant won the Orange Prize for Fiction for When I Lived in Modern Times in 2000. Charlotte Mendelson (picture) won the Somerset Maugham Award and the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize for her second novel, Daughters of Jerusalem in 2003. Elif Shafak writes in Turkish, but The Bastard of Istanbul, is her second novel she wrote in English. And Rose Tremain is of course Rose Tremain, one of the wonders of English fiction.

Last year’s prize went to Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Half of a Yellow Sun (2006).

Three first-time authors and three established writers have been shortlisted for the 2008 Orange Prize for Fiction. Surprisingly, Man Booker Prize-winner Anne Enright and former Orange Prize-winner Linda Grant did not make it to the shortlist. Here’s the shortlist:
  1. Fault Lines (Atlantic, 2008) / Nancy Huston
  2. The Outcast (Chatto & Windus/Vintage, 2008) / Sadie Jones
  3. When We Were Bad (Picador/Houghton Mifflin, 2007) / Charlotte Mendelson
  4. Lullabies for Little Criminals (Quercus, 2008) / Heather O’Neill
  5. The Road Home (Chatto & Windus, 2007) / Rose Tremain
  6. Lottery (Putnam, 2007; William Heinemann, 2007) / Patricia Wood
The winner of the 2008 Orange Prize for Fiction will be announced on June 4, 2008


Blogger It's Time to Live... said...

Thanks, I found your blog informative and interesting.

Saturday, May 24, 2008 10:19:00 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home