Sunday, March 15, 2009

2008 National Book Critics Circle Award Winners

CHILEAN NOVELIST Roberto Bolaño, who passed away in 2003, has won the 2008 National Book Critics Circle Award for his novel, 2666 (translated from the Spanish by Natasha Wimmer), the National Book Critics Circle announced on March 12, 2009. Other winners included Patrick French’s The World Is What It Is: The Authorized Biography of V.S. Naipaul for Biography, Ariel Sabar’s My Father’s Paradise for Autobiography, Dexter Filkins’s The Forever War for General Nonfiction and Seth Lerer’s Children’s Literature: A Children’s History from Aesop to Harry Potter for Criticism. There were two winners for Poetry: August Kleinzahler’s Sleeping It Off in Rapid City and Juan Felipe Herrera’s Half the World in Light: New and Selected Poems.


Anonymous Anonymous said...

The title of the VS Naipaul biography is a triumph of the trite.Many years ago when I read the Donnie Brasco Mafia book by FBI agent, Joseph Pistone, I met this " it is what it is" phrase and it seems to represent the nearest approach there is to a mobster philosophy.

However, one difference between mob members and VS Naipaul is that the gangsters treat their women with much more respect than the neurotic Brahmin.

Monday, March 23, 2009 1:35:00 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home