Tuesday, April 27, 2010

2010 Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award LONGLIST

THE MUNSTER LITERATURE CENTRE is pleased to announce the longlist for the 2010 Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award for the best collection of stories. The longlist is almost evenly split between women and men this year with 28 men and 26 women. The strength of the short story in the US is reflected by that country’s overwhelming number of longlistees (21). This year is also noted for a surge of entries from Asia, accounting for one-fifth of all titles. There are three Irish nominees this year including Nuala Ni Chonchuir, the first author to be longlisted for the third time, Donal McLaughlin and Martin Malone. There are two Singaporean nominees: O Thiam Chin and Wena Poon.

Famous names in the longlist include Richard Bausch, Laura van den Berg, Louis de Bernières, David Constantine, Patrick Gale, Angelica Garnett, Thomas Lynch, Owen Marshall, Nuala Ní Chonchúir, Ron Rash, Robert Shearman, Sam Shepard, T.C. Boyle, Michèle Roberts, Peter Robinson and Helen Simpson. Lorraine M. López was shortlisted for the 2010 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction. There are a number of first collections by Louis de Bernières, Belle Boggs, Craig Cliff, Holly Goddard Jones, Mark Illis, Barb Johnson, Billie Livingston, Donal McLaughlin, Lori Ostlund, Anne Sanow, Sarah Selecky, Anis Shivani, Justin Taylor, Laura van den Berg and Tiphanie Yanique.

Irish novelist Mary Morrissey, Nadine O’Regan, arts editor of the Sunday Business Post and Diana Reich, former Orange Prize judge and a curator of the Small Wonder short-story festival in the south of England are judges this time round.

The Cork City-Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award is the world’s richest and most prestigious prize for the form and is sponsored by Cork City Council. Now in its sixth year, it is awarded to the best new collection of the year.
  1. Laburnum for My Head (Penguin India, 2009) / Temsula Ao (India)
  2. Something Is Out There (Alfred A. Knopf, 2010) / Richard Bausch (US)
  3. Memoirs of a Gone World (Salt, 2010) / Martin Bax (UK)
  4. If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This (Picador, 2010) / Robin Black (US)
  5. Miracle Boy and Other Stories (Press 53, 2010) / Pinckney Benedict (US)
  6. Notwithstanding (Harvill Secker, 2009) / Louis de Bernières (UK)
  7. Mattaponi Queen (Graywolf Press, 2010) / Belle Boggs (US)
  8. Wild Child (Bloomsbury, 2009) / T.C. Boyle (US)
  9. Tales in Colour and Other Stories (Zubaan/Penguin India, 2009) / Kunzang Choden (Bhutan)
  10. Nude (Salt, 2009) / Nuala Ní Chonchúir (Ireland)
  11. A Man Melting (Vintage/Random House, 2010) / Craig Cliff (New Zealand)
  12. The Washer of the Dead (Zubaan/Penguin India, 2010) / Venita Coelho (India)
  13. The Shieling (Comma Press, 2009) / David Constantine (UK)
  14. The Haunted Heart and Other Tales (Lethe Press, 2009) / Jameson Currier (US)
  15. Ronald Reagan, My Father (ECW Press, 2010) / Brian Joseph Davis (Canada)
  16. Circus Bulgaria (Portobello Books, 2010) / Deyan Enev (Bulgaria)
  17. Call Me Ahab (University of Nebraska Press, 2009) / Anne Finger (US)
  18. Gentleman’s Relish (Fourth Estate, 2009) / Patrick Gale (UK)
  19. The Unspoken Truth (Chatto & Windus/Random House, 2010) / Angelica Garnett (UK)
  20. Girl Trouble (Harper Perennial, 2009) / Holly Goddard Jones (US)
  21. Dangerous Places (BkMk Press, 2009) / Perry Glasser (US)
  22. Ghosts of Wyoming (Graywolf Press, 2010) / Alyson Hagy (US)
  23. Luck (Penguin, 2009) / Dhruba Hazarika (India)
  24. Tender (Salt, 2009) / Mark Illis (UK)
  25. More of This World or Maybe Another (Harper Perennial, 2009) / Barb Johnson (US)
  26. Greedy Little Eyes (Random House Canada, 2010) / Billie Livingston (Canada)
  27. Homicide Survivors Picnic and Other Stories (BkMk Press, 2009) / Lorraine M. López (US)
  28. Apparition and Late Fictions: A Novella and Stories (Jonathan Cape/W.W. Norton, 2010) / Thomas Lynch (US)
  29. Twelve Stories (Salt, 2009) / Paul Magrs (UK)
  30. The Mango War and Other Stories (New Island, 2009) / Martin Malone (Ireland)
  31. Living as a Moon (Vintage/Random House, 2009) / Owen Marshall (New Zealand)
  32. An Allergic Reaction to National Anthems (Argyll Publishing, 2009) / Donal McLaughlin (Northern Ireland)
  33. The Bigness of the World (University of Georgia Press, 2009) / Lori Ostlund (US)
  34. Never Been Better (MPH Publishing, 2009) / O Thiam Chin (Singapore)
  35. The Bone Garden and Other Stories (Rupantar, 2009) / Manoj Kumar Panda (India)
  36. The Proper Care of Foxes (Ethos Books, 2009) / Wena Poon (Singapore)
  37. Further Adventures in the Restless Universe (Dzanc Books, 2010) / Dawn Raffel (US)
  38. Killing the Water (Penguin India, 2010) / Mahmud Rahman (Bangladesh)
  39. Mud: Stories of Sex and Love (Little, Brown, 2010) / Michèle Roberts (UK)
  40. Burning Bright (Ecco/HarperCollins, 2010) / Ron Rash (US)
  41. The Price of Love (Hodder & Stoughton, 2009) / Peter Robinson (UK)
  42. Triple Time (University of Pittsburgh Press, 2009) / Anne Sanow (US)
  43. This Cake Is for the Party (Thomas Allen Publishers, 2010) / Sarah Selecky (Canada)
  44. Eating Women, Telling Tales: Stories About Food (Zubaan/Penguin India, 2010) / Bulbul Sharma (India)
  45. Love Songs for the Shy and Cynical (Big Finish, 2009) / Robert Shearman (UK)
  46. Day Out of Days (Alfred A. Knopf, 2010) / Sam Shepard (US)
  47. Anatolia and Other Stories (Black Lawrence Press, 2009) / Anis Shivani (US)
  48. In-Flight Entertainment (Jonathan Cape, 2010) / Helen Simpson (UK)
  49. Chattering (Granta, 2010) / Louise Stern (US)
  50. Venus Crossing (Penguin, 2009) / Kalpana Swaminathan (India)
  51. Everything Here is the Best Thing Ever (Harper Perennial, 2010) / Justin Taylor (US)
  52. Super Girl (Faber & Faber, 2009) / Ruth Thomas (UK)
  53. What the World Will Look Like When All the Water Leaves Us (Dzanc Books, 2009) / Laura van den Berg (US)
  54. Chinese Stories in Times of Change (Muse Publishing, 2009) / David T.K. Wong (China)
  55. How to Escape from a Leper Colony: A Novella and Stories (Graywolf Press, 2010) / Tiphanie Yanique (US Virgin Islands)
A shortlist of six will be announced in July 2010. The winner will be chosen in September 2010 and will receive the award at the close of the world’s oldest annual short-story festival in Cork, Ireland. Previous winners of this award include Haruki Murakami (Japan), Jhumpa Lahiri (US) and Simon Van Booy (UK). On two occasions the award has gone to an author for their first book: Yiyun Li (China) in 2005 and Miranda July (US) in 2007.


Post a Comment

<< Home