Thursday, March 11, 2010

2010 Commonwealth Writers’ Prize Regional Winners

RANA DASGUPTA’s Solo and Daniyal Mueenuddin’s In Other Rooms, Other Wonders were declared regional winners of the 2010 Commonwealth Writers’ Prize in the European and South Asian category. Solo won for Best Book while In Other Rooms, Other Wonders won for Best First Book.

Other regional winners include Marié Heese’s The Double Crown (Best Book) and Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani’s I Do Not Come to You By Chance (Best First Book) from Africa; Michael Crummey’s Galore (Best Book) and Shandi Mitchell’s Under This Unbroken Sky (Best First Book) from the Canada and Caribbean region; and Albert Wendt’s The Adventures of Vela and Glenda Guest’s Siddon Rock in the Southeast Asia and Pacific region.

The regional winners will be officially announced on April 7, 2010, while the overall winners will be announced in Delhi, India, on April 12, 2010.


Blogger TwinDad said...

Shandi Mitchell and Michael Crummey have both been nominated for two Atlantic Book Awards. For more information please go to

Thursday, March 11, 2010 4:27:00 PM  
Blogger Eric Forbes said...

Thanks, Nicholas!

Friday, March 12, 2010 9:04:00 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home