Wednesday, February 24, 2010

2010 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction Shortlist

BARBARA KINGSOLVER’s historical novel, The Lacuna (Harper, 2009), Lorraine M. López’s Homicide Survivors Picnic and Other Stories (BkMk Press, 2009), Lorrie Moore’s A Gate at the Stairs (Knopf, 2009), Alexie Sherman’s tragicomic medley of stories, prose and poems, War Dances (Grove/Atlantic, 2009) and Colson Whitehead’s Sag Harbor (Doubleday, 2009) have been shortlisted for the prestigious 2010 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction, it was announced on February 23, 2010 (Tuesday). There are three novels and two short-story collections.

The PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction is America’s largest peer-juried prize for fiction (both novels and short-story collections). The judges for this year are Al Young, Rilla Askew and Kyoko Mori.

Joseph O’Neill’s tale of cricket and camaraderie in post-9/11 New York City, Netherland (Knopf, 2008), won the prize in 2009.

The winner of the 2010 award will be announced on March 23, 2010.


Blogger NancyO said...

I loved Netherland. Every year I do a two-month Booker Prize longlist read, and this one was one of my favorites in '08.

Thursday, February 25, 2010 4:11:00 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home