Monday, May 18, 2009

2009 NSW Premier's Literary Award Winners

DYLAN THOMAS PRIZE-winning Australian author Nam Le has won the prestigious 2009 New South Wales Premier’s Book of the Year Award for his first book, The Boat (Alfred A. Knopf/Hamish Hamilton/Canongate, 2008), in conjunction with the 2009 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards, while Joan London was declared the winner of the 2009 Christina Stead Prize for Fiction for her novel, The Good Parents (Random House Australia/Vintage, 2008; Grove/Atlantic, 2009), an unsettling portrait of a family in crisis, beating such critically acclaimed Australian writers as Helen Garner, Kate Grenville, Julia Leigh, Steve Toltz and Tim Winton.

London is the author of Gilgamesh, which won The Age Book of the Year Award for Fiction, was shortlisted for the Western Australian Premier’s Award for Fiction and the Miles Franklin Award, and longlisted for the Orange Prize, among many other honours.


Post a Comment

<< Home