Wednesday, May 06, 2009

2009 Edge Hill Short Story Prize Shortlist

THE EDGE HILL SHORT STORY PRIZE, the only literary award in the U.K. for the best short-story collection by a single author, was set up in 2007. The inaugural prize was won by Colm Tóibín for Mothers and Sons (2006), his first collection of stories. Claire Keegan won the following year with her second collection, Walk the Blue Fields (2007). (The National Short Story Competition, launched in 2005, rewards a single story, not a collection).

The following collections have been shortlisted for the 2009 Edge Hill Short Story Prize:

1. The Turing Test (Elastic Press, 2008) / Chris Beckett
2. Country of the Grand (Faber & Faber, 2008) / Gerard Donovan
3. Yesterday’s Weather (Random House, 2008) / Anne Enright
4. The Atmospheric Railway: New and Selected Stories (Random House, 2008) / Shena Mackay
5. The First Person and Other Stories (Hamish Hamilton, 2008) / Ali Smith

The winner will be announced on July 4, 2009


Post a Comment

<< Home