Tuesday, April 21, 2009

2009 Orange Prize for Fiction Shortlist

THE 2009 Orange Prize for Fiction shortlist is dominated by American writers: Ellen Feldman, Samantha Hunt and Pulitzer Prize-winner Marilynne Robinson. However, Nobel Prize laureate Toni Morrison is not on the list. There are three non-Americans: Samatha Harvey, Deirdre Madden and Kamila Shamsie. Irish writer Madden was shortlisted for One by One in the Darkness (1996) in 1997. My favourites: Deirdre Madden and Marilynne Robinson.

The following writers have been shortlisted for the 2009 Orange Prize for Fiction:

1. Scottsboro (Picador, 2008) / Ellen Feldman
2. The Wilderness (Jonathan Cape, 2009) / Samantha Harvey
3. The Invention of Everything Else (Harvill Secker, 2008) / Samantha Hunt
4. Molly Fox’s Birthday (Faber & Faber, 2008) / Deirdre Madden
5. Home (Virago, 2008) / Marilynne Robinson
6. Burnt Shadows (Bloomsbury, 2009) / Kamila Shamsie

The winner of the 2009 Orange Prize for Fiction will be announced on June 3, 2009


Post a Comment

<< Home