Wednesday, July 25, 2007

2007 Man Asian Literary Prize Longlist

THE FIRST Man Asian Literary Prize longlist was announced on Friday, July 20, 2007. Writers from India dominate the 23-title longlist with 11 titles. The Man Asian Literary Prize is sponsored by the Man Group, the same company that sponsors Britain’s prestigious Booker Prize for Fiction. Asian novels not yet published in English are eligible for this prize. I am familiar with the work of a couple of writers: Xiaolu Guo, Hitomi Kanehara, Mo Yan and Xu Xi.

1. The Living God / Tulsi Badrinath
2. The Sound of Water / Sanjay Bahadur
3. Cappuccino Dusk / Kankana Basu
4. Injustice / Sanjiv Bhatla
5. Without Dreams / Shahbano Bilgrami
6. The Amnesiac / Saikat Chakraborty
7. Soledad’s Sister / Jose Dalisay, Jr.
8. Families at Home / Reeti Gadekar
9. 20 Fragments of a Ravenous Youth / Xiaolu Guo
10. A Moon in the Water / Ameena Hussein
11. Smile As They Bow / Nu Nu Yi Inwa
12. Wolf Totem / Jiang Rong
13. Autofiction / Hitomi Kanehara
14. Litanies of Dutch Battery / N.S. Madhavan
15. The Little God / Laxmi Narayan Mishra
16. Life and Death Are Wearing Me Out / Mo Yan
17. The Pangolin’s Tale / Nalini Rajan
18. Little Hut of Leaping Fishes / Chiew-Siah Tei
19. Maria’s Room / Shreekumar Varma
20. Seeing the Girl / Anuradha Vijayakrishnan
21. Pichaikuppan / Sujatha Vijayaraghavan
22. Habit of a Foreign Sky / Xu Xi
23. Fleeting Light / Egoyan Zheng

On October 25, 2007, a shortlist of five writers will be announced. The winner of the Man Asian Literary Prize will be awarded in November 2007


Blogger bibliobibuli said...

spot the malaysian author, eric!!!

Friday, July 27, 2007 6:01:00 PM  
Blogger Eric Forbes said...

If I have to take a guess, it is Chiew-Siah Tei.

Friday, July 27, 2007 6:06:00 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home