Sunday, July 22, 2007

2007 Frank O'Connor International Short Story Prize Shortlist

Who are the six writers shortlisted for the 2007 Frank O’Connor International Short Story Prize?

AUTHORS from five countries, including two from the U.S., have been shortlisted for this year’s Frank O’Connor International Short Story Prize. The shortlist for was announced on Saturday, July 21, 2007, and the award will be presented at the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Festival in Cork, Ireland, on September 24, 2007. In 2005, Yiyun Li received the inaugural prize for her début collection of short stories, A Thousand Years of Good Prayers (2005). In 2006, the prize went to Haruki Murakami’s Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman (2006). So, who will clinch the prize in 2007?

1. Opportunity (Random House, New Zealand) / Charlotte Grimshaw (New Zealand)
2. No One Belongs Here More Than You (Canongate, U.K.) / Miranda July (U.S.)
3. Missing Kissinger (Chatto & Windus, 2007) / Etgar Keret (Israel) (trans. from the Hebrew by Miriam Schlesinger and Sondra Silverston)
4. The Faith Healer of Olive Avenue (Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, U.S.) / Manuel Muñoz (U.S.)
5. Valentines (Pantheon Books, U.S.) / Olaf Olafsson (Iceland)
6. The Separate Heart and Other Stories (Jonathan Cape, U.K.) / Simon Robson (U.K.)


Post a Comment

<< Home