Saturday, September 23, 2006

2006 Dylan Thomas Prize for Young Writers: Shortlist

THE inaugural 2006 Dylan Thomas Prize for Young Writers is Britain’s most lucrative literary award which promotes English-language poetry and drama as well as novels and short-story collections and is restricted to authors under the age of 30. With this prize, the spirit of Welsh poet Dylan Thomas is kept aflamed. Believe it or not, the winner of the prize gets £60,000. The shortlist is as follows:

Where They Were Missed (2006) / Lucy Caldwell
Unfeeling (2005) / Ian Holding
Utterly Monkey (2005) / Nick Laird
The Amnesia Clinic (2006) / James Scudamore
Fresh Apples (stories) (2006) / Rachel Tresize
Outside Valentine (2005) / Liza Ward

The winner will be announced in Swansea, Wales, on October 27, 2006, Dylan Thomas’s birthday


Post a Comment

<< Home