Monday, October 03, 2005

10th Anniversary of the Orange Prize for Fiction

SO who is going to win the Orange of Oranges tonight to celebrate the 10th year of the Orange Prize for Fiction? Next to the Booker Prize for Fiction and the Whitbread Prizes, the Orange Prize for Fiction is one of Britain’s most established and prestigious literary prizes. So who is the best Orange of the Oranges? My money’s on Andrea Levy’s multicultural, multigenerational saga Small Island to take home the prize. (Andrea Levy won the prize.)

Past Winners
2005 We Need to Talk About Kevin / Lionel Shriver
2004 Small Island / Andrea Levy
2003 Property / Valerie Martin
2002 Bel Canto / Ann Patchett
2001 The Idea of Perfection / Kate Grenville
2000 When I Lived in Modern Times / Linda Grant
1999 A Crime in the Neighborhood / Suzanne Berne
1998 Larry’s Party / Carol Shields
1997 Fugitive Pieces / Anne Michaels
1996 A Spell of Winter / Helen Dunmore


Blogger Susan Abraham said...

Eric, you must be pleased that Levy won. I've met her in London and we have talked a bit, a few times. We got on very well. Very very nice lady. No pompous airs or showy graces about her.

Wednesday, October 05, 2005 2:16:00 AM  
Blogger Eric Forbes said...

I am glad that Andrea Levy has won the Orange of Oranges. She is a perfect choice to represent 10 years of the Orange Prize for excellence in writing. Definitely one of the best books of 2004. Here's to more of Andrea Levy! Happy reading, Susan!

Wednesday, October 05, 2005 5:41:00 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home