Wednesday, October 19, 2005

2005 Giller Prize for Fiction

The richest literary prize in Canadian fiction

THE GILLER PRIZE was founded in 1994 by Montreal real-estate businessman Jack Rabinovich as a tribute to his late wife Doris Giller. Giller, a prominent member of the Canadian literary community, was a reporter and editor at three major daily newspapers before her death in 1993. The prize goes to the best Canadian novel or short-story collection published each year in English.

The following books have been shortlisted for the 2005 Giller Prize for Fiction, Canada’s premier literary prize for fiction:

Luck / Joan Barfoot
The Time in Between / David Bergen
Sweetness in the Belly / Camilla Gibb
Alligator / Lisa Moore
A Wall of Light / Edeet Ravel

However, my money’s on David Bergen’s The Time in Between to take home the prize.

Alice Munro won the 2004 Giller Prize for Fiction for her short-story collection, Runaway (2004). She previously won the Giller Prize in 1998 for The Love of a Good Woman (1998).

The winner will be announced in Toronto on November 8, 2005

Past Winners
2006 Bloodletting and Miraculous Cures / Vincent Lam
2005 The Time in Between / David Bergen
2004 Runaway / Alice Munro
2003 The In-Between World of Vikram Lall / M.G. Vassanji
2002 The Polished Hoe / Austin Clarke
2001 Clara Callan / Richard Bruce Wright
2000 Anil’s Ghost / Michael Ondaatje
1999 A Good House / Bonnie Burnard
1998 The Love of a Good Woman / Alice Munro
1997 Barney’s Version / Mordecai Richler
1996 Alias Grace / Margaret Atwood
1995 A Fine Balance / Rohinton Mistry
1994 The Book of Secrets / M.G. Vassanji


Post a Comment

<< Home