Tuesday, January 16, 2007

Seamus HEANEY wins the 2006 T.S. Eliot Prize for Poetry

NOBEL LAUREATE Seamus Heaney has won the 2006 T.S. Eliot Prize for Poetry with his latest collection, District and Circle (2006), it was announced on January 15, 2007, beating stiff competition from another Northern Irish poet, Paul Muldoon’s Horse Latitudes (2006), who won the T.S. Eliot Prize in 1994 for The Annals of Chile (1994). What is indeed surprising is that Heaney, who was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1995, has not won this prize before.



Post a Comment

<< Home