Monday, January 05, 2009

2008 Costa Category Award Winners

SEBASTIAN BARRY, the Irish playwright, novelist and poet, has won the 2008 Costa Novel Award with his fifth novel, The Secret Scripture, while Adam Foulds takes the award for poetry. Both Barry and Foulds are strong contenders for the 2008 Costa Book of the Year Award to be announced on Tuesday, January 27, 2009. So, who will win the 2008 Costa Book of the Year Award? Will it be Sebastian Barry’s The Secret Scripture or Adam Fould’s The Broken Word?

The Secret Scripture / Sebastian Barry

First Novel
The Outcast / Sadie Jones

Somewhere Towards The End / Diana Athill

The Broken Word / Adam Foulds

Just Henry / Michelle Magorian

The overall winner of the 2008 Costa Book of the Year will be announced on January 27, 2009


Anonymous Anonymous said...

I am still rooting for Sebastian Barry to win the overall prize!

Friday, January 16, 2009 6:07:00 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home