Wednesday, April 02, 2008

2008 IMPAC Dublin Literary Award Shortlist

THESE are the eight novels that have been shortlisted for the 2008 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Prize:

1. The Speed of Light (trans. from the Spanish by Anne McLean) (Bloomsbury, 2006) / Javier Cercas (Spain)
2. The Sweet and Simple Kind (Perera-Hussein Publishing House, 2006)/ Yasmine Gooneratne (Sri Lanka)
3. De Niro’s Game / Rawi Hage (Lebanon)
4. Dreams of Speaking (Harvill Secker, 2006; Vintage, 2007) / Gail Jones (Australia)
5. Let It Be Morning (trans. from the Hebrew by Miriam Schlesinger) (Black Cat, 2006; Atlantic Books, 2007) / Sayed Kashua (Israel)
6. The Attack [trans. from the French, L’attentat (2005), by John Cullen] / Yasmina Khadra (Algeria)
7. The Woman Who Waited (trans. from the Russian by Geoffrey Strachan) (Sceptre, 2006) / Andreï Makine (Russia)
8. Winterwood (Bloomsbury, 2007) / Patrick McCabe (Ireland)

The winner of the 2008 International IMPAC Dublin Prize will be announced on June 12, 2008

The 2007 prize of course went to Norwegian Per Petterson for Out Stealing Horses.


Post a Comment

<< Home