Saturday, August 11, 2007

Richard FORD ... The Frank Bascombe Trilogy

RICHARD FORD’S Frank Bascombe Trilogy, spanning some 20 years, tells us that life is not a bed of roses but fraught with trials and tribulations. There are many things we do not understand about our lives even though we think we do. We somehow learn as we go along. With these novels, Ford captures the nuances and textures of life’s complexities as experienced by the protagonist Frank Bascombe.

1. The Sportswriter (1986)
2. Independence Day (1995)
3. The Lay of the Land (2006)


Anonymous Anonymous said...

Real gorgeous covers!

Thursday, August 09, 2007 6:03:00 PM  
Blogger Jeffrey Hardy Quah said...

I don't know... that last one looks like a cover for a self-help spirituality book or something.

Friday, August 10, 2007 10:06:00 PM  
Blogger Eric Forbes said...

Hello Jeff - Now that you mention it, I think so, too! The first two covers are all right.

Friday, August 10, 2007 10:19:00 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

I've seen a lot of versions of the Independence day cover which are much nicer. I agree about the third book - does look like one of those inspirational book covers, though strangely uninspiring.

Thursday, September 06, 2007 4:22:00 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home