Wednesday, November 29, 2006

2006 Costa Awards for Literature

THE SHORTLISTS for the 2006 Costa Awards for Literature (formerly known as the Whitbread Awards) have been announced and they are as follows:

Best Novel
Restless (Bloomsbury) / William Boyd
Saving Caravaggio (Viking) / Neil Griffiths
A Spot of Bother (Jonathan Cape) / Mark Haddon
Black Swan Green (Sceptre) / David Mitchell

First Novel
The Meaning of Night (John Murray) / Michael Cox
Cloth Girl (Little, Brown) / Marilyn Heward Mills
The Tenderness of Wolves (Quercus) / Stef Penney
The Amnesia Clinic (Harvill Secker) / James Scudamore

George Mackay Brown: The Life (John Murray) / Maggie Fergusson
Donne: A Reformed Soul (Viking)/ John Stubbs
Nabeel’s Song (Sceptre) / Jo Tatchell
Keeping Mum (Atlantic Books) / Brian Thompson

The Book of Blood (Jonathan Cape) / Vicki Feaver
Letter to Patience (Seren) / John Haynes
District and Circle (Faber and Faber) / Seamus Heaney
Dear Room (Faber and Faber) / Hugo Williams

Children’s Book
Clay (Hodder Children’s Books) / David Almond
The Diamond of Drury Lane (Egmont Press) / Julia Golding
Just in Case (Puffin) / Meg Rosoff
Set in Stone (David Fickling Books) / Linda Newbery

The winner of each category will be announced on January 10, 2007. The overall winner of the £25,000 Book of the Year will be announced on February 7, 2007.


Post a Comment

<< Home