Sunday, September 10, 2006


“There are no foreign lands.
It is the traveller only who is foreign.”

Robert Louis Stevenson

The Speed of Light (2006) / Javier Cercas (trans. from the Spanish by Anne McLean)

The Half Brother (2003) / Lars Saabye Christensen (trans. from the Norwegian by Kenneth Steven)

Novel Without a Name (1995) / Duong Thu Huong (trans. from the Vietnamese by Phan Huy Duong and Nina McPherson)

The Visit of the Royal Physician (published as The Royal Physician’s Visit in the U.S.) (2001) / Per Olov Enquist (trans. from the Swedish by Tiina Nunnally)

The Years with Laura Diaz (2000) / Carlos Fuentes (trans. from the Spanish by Alfred MacAdam)

The Calligrapher’s Night (2006) / Yasmine Ghata (trans. from the Turkish by Andrew Brown)
The Wind from the East (2006) / Almudena Grandes (trans. from the Spanish by Sonia Soto)
An Altered Light (2004) / Jens Christian Grøndahl (trans. from the Danish by Anne Born)
Phantom Pain (2003) / Arnon Grunberg (trans. from the Dutch by Sam Garrett)
A Tiler’s Afternoon (1993) / Lars Gustaffson (trans. from the Swedish by Tom Geddes)

Willenbrock (2003) / Christoph Hein (trans. from the German by Philip Boehm)
Atomised (also published as The Elementary Particles) (2000) / Michel Houellebecq (trans. from the French by Frank Wynne)

This Blinding Absence of Light (2002) / Tahar Ben Jelloun (trans. from the French by Linda Coverdale)
The Painter of Birds (2001) / Lidia Jorge (trans. from the Portuguese by Margaret Jull Costa)

Fateless (2004) / Imre Kertész [trans. from the Hungarian, Sorstalanság (1975), by Tim Wilkinson]
The Swallows of Kabul (2004) / Yasmina Khadra (trans. from the French by John Cullen)

Balthasar’s Odyssey (2002) / Amin Maalouf (trans. from the French by Barbara Bray)
Don’t Move (2004) / Margaret Mazzantini (trans. from the Italian by John Cullen)
The Love You Promised Me (1999) / Silvia Molina (trans. from the Spanish by David Unger)
The Garlic Ballads (1988; 1995) / Mo Yan (trans. from the Chinese by Howard Goldblatt)
The Land of Green Plums (1996) / Herta Muller (trans. from the German by Michael Hofmann)
The Wind-up Bird Chronicle (1997) / Haruki Murakami (trans. from the Japanese by Jay Rubin)

The Following Story (1991) / Cees Noteboom (trans. from the Dutch by Ina Rilke)

The Laws (1993) / Connie Palmen (trans. from the Dutch by Richard Huijing)
My Name is Red (2001) / Orhan Pamuk (trans. from the Turkish by Erdag M. Göknar)
The Clay Machine-Gun (2001) / Victor Pelevin (trans. from the Russian by Andrew Bromfield)
Out Stealing Horses (2005) / Per Petterson (trans. from the Norwegian by Anne Born)
In the Wake (2003) / Per Petterson (trans. from the Norwegian by Anne Born)

A Thousand Rooms of Dream and Fear (2006) / Atiq Rahimi (trans. from the Dari by Sarah Maguire and Yama Yari)
Earth and Ashes (2002) / Atiq Rahimi (trans. from the Dari by Erdag M. Göknar)

The Gospel According to Jesus Christ (1991) / Jose Saramago (trans. from the Portuguese by Giovanni Pontiero)
The Reader (1997) / Bernard Schlink (trans. from the German by Carol Brown Janeway)

Declares Pereira (1995) / Antonio Tabucchi (trans. from the Italian by Patrick Creagh)
House of Day, House of Night (2002) / Olga Tokarczuk (trans. from the Polish by Antonia Lloyd-Jones)
The Blue Sky (2006) / Galsan Tschinag (trans. from the German by Katharina Rout)

The Good Negress (also published as This Rain Coming) (1995) / A.J. Verdelle

A Woman in Jerusalem (2006) / A.B. Yehoshua (trans. from the Hebrew by Hillel Halkin)


Post a Comment

<< Home