Thursday, February 23, 2006

2006 DECIBEL AWARD: Shortlist

THE DECIBEL AWARD for Writer of the Year is a new award given to the writer of fiction, narrative non-fiction or poetry who is of African, Caribbean or Asian descent and has made the greatest contribution towards the literary year. The inaugural 2005 Decibel Award for Writer of the Year was awarded to Hari Kunzru for Transmission (2004) from a shortlist comprising Malorie Blackman for Knife Edge (2004), Andrea Levy for Small Island (2004) and Benjamin Zephaniah for Gangsta Rap (2004).

Maps for Lost Lovers (2004) / Nadeem Aslam

26a (2005) / Diana Evans

The Icarus Girl (2005) / Helen Oyeyemi

On Beauty (2005) / Zadie Smith

The 2006 award winner will be announced on March 29, 2006.


Post a Comment

<< Home