Wednesday, January 18, 2006


THE finalists for the 2005 National Book Critics Circle Awards have been announced. The winners of all categories will be announced on March 3, 2006, in New York. The complete list of finalists are as follows:

Fiction: E.L. Doctorow, for The March; Mary Gaitskill, for Veronica; Andrea Levy, for Small Island; Kazuo Ishiguro, for Never Let Me Go; William T. Vollmann, for Europe Central

General Nonfiction: Svetlana Alexievich, for Voices From Chernobyl: The Oral History of a Nuclear Disaster; Robert Fisk, for The Great War for Civilization: The Conquest of the Middle East; Ellen Meloy, for Eating Stone: Imagination and the Loss of the Wild; Caroline Moorehead, for Human Cargo: A Journey Among Refugees; Anthony Shadid, for Night Draws Near: Iraq’s People in the Shadow of America’s War

Biography: Doris Kearns Goodwin, for Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln; Ron Powers, for Mark Twain: A Life; Kai Bird and Martin J. Sherwin, for American Prometheus: The Triumph and Tragedy of J. Robert Oppenheimer; Carolyn Burke, for Lee Miller: A Life; Jonathan Coe, for Like a Fiery Elephant: The Story of B.S. Johnson

Criticism: John Updike, for Still Looking: Essays on American Art; Arthur C. Danto, for Unnatural Wonders; Hal Crowther, for Gather at the River: Notes From the Post-Millennial South; William Logan, for The Undiscovered Country: Poetry in the Age of Tin; Eliot Weinberger, for What Happened Here: Bush Chronicles

Autobiography: Joan Didion, for The Year of Magical Thinking; Francine du Plessix Gray, for Them: A Memoir of Parents; Judith Moore, for Fat Girl: A True Story; Orhan Pamuk, for Istanbul: Memories and the City; Vikram Seth, for Two Lives

Poetry: Ron Slate, for The Incentive of the Maggot; Richard Siken, for Crush; Simon Armitage, for The Shout; Manuel Blas de Luna, for Bent to Earth; Jack Gilbert, for Refusing Heaven


Post a Comment

<< Home