Monday, November 03, 2008

2007/8 John Llewellyn Rhys Prize

NONFICTION RULES in the shortlist for the 2008 John Llewellyn Rhys Prize for works of literature (fiction, nonfiction, poetry or drama) by a United Kingdom or Commonwealth writer aged 35 or under at the time of publication. Among the shortlisted titles, there are two novels, a collection of poetry and three works of nonfiction. There are no collections of short stories this year. There are two début works: Aravind Adiga’s 2008 Man Booker Prize-winning The White Tiger and Ross Raisin’s God’s Own Country, recently shortlisted for the 2008 Dylan Thomas Prize for New Writing.

The shortlist:
1. The White Tiger (Atlantic Books, 2008) / Aravind Adiga (fiction)
2. The Broken Word (Jonathan Cape, 2008) / Adam Foulds (poetry)
3. The Secret Life of Words (John Murray, 2008) / Henry Hitchings (nonfiction)
4. The Bloody White Baron (Faber & Faber, 2008) / James Palmer (nonfiction)
5. God’s Own Country (2008) / Ross Raisin (fiction)
6. Selling Your Father’s Bones (Harper Press, 2008) / Brian Schofield (nonfiction)

The winner will be announced on November 24, 2008


Post a Comment

<< Home