Monday, May 19, 2008

2008 Commonwealth Writers Prize Overall Winners

THE OVERALL WINNERS of the 2008 Commonwealth Writers Prize were announced on May 18, 2008, at the Franschhoek Literary Festival in Franschhoek, South Africa. The Overall Best Book Prize was awarded to Canada’s Lawrence Hill for his novel, The Book of Negroes (HarperCollins Canada, 2007) while the Overall Best First Book Prize was awarded to Bangladesh’s Tahmima Anam for her first novel, A Golden Age (John Murray, 2007).

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home