Tuesday, March 25, 2008

2008 Ondaatje Prize

NICOLA BARKER, Robert Carver, Orlando Figes, Rachel Lichtenstein, Robert Minhinick and Graham Robb have been shortlisted for the 2008 Royal Society of Literature Ondaatje Prize. The £10,000 prize is awarded annually to a work of fiction, nonfiction or poetry which, besides being judged to be of the highest literary merit, best evokes a sense of place. This year’s judges include Russell Celyn Jones, Elaine Feinstein and Romesh Gunesekera.

The Shortlist
Darkmans (Fourth Estate) / Nicola Barker
Paradise with Serpents (Harper Perennial) / Robert Carver
The Whisperers (Allen Lane) / Orlando Figes
On Brick Lane (Hamish Hamilton) / Rachel Lichtenstein
Sea Holly (Seren) / Robert Minhinnick
The Discovery of France (Picador) / Graham Robb

Past recipients of the Ondaatje Prize include Hisham Matar, James Meek, Rory Stuart and Louisa Waugh.

The winner will be announced on April 29, 2008


Post a Comment

<< Home