Monday, May 28, 2007

2007 Commonwealth Writers Prize: Winners

THE winners of the 2007 Commonwealth Writers Prize for Best Book and Best First Book were announced on May 29, 2007. New Zealand novelist Lloyd Jones won the best book prize for Mister Pip (Penguin New Zealand, 2006), the first New Zealand writer to win best book since Janet Frame in 1989 for The Carpathians (1988), while Canadian novelist D.Y. Béchard won the best first-book prize for Vandal Love (Doubleday Canada, 2006).


Post a Comment

<< Home