Tuesday, July 18, 2006

2006 Frank O'Connor International Short Story Prize: Shortlist

THE SHORTLIST for the 2006 Frank O’Connor International Short Story Prize, the world’s richest short-story prize, has been announced. The winner will be announced and presented during the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Festival on September 24, 2006. Last year Yiyun Li received the inaugural prize for her début collection of short stories, A Thousand Years of Good Prayers (2005).

Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman (2006) / Haruki Murakami (trans. from the Japanese by Philip Gabriel and Jay Rubin)
Notes from a Turkish Whorehouse (2006) / Philip Ó Ceallaigh
The First Hurt (2006) / Rachel Sherman
In Strange Gardens and Other Stories (2006) / Peter Stamm (trans. from the German by Michael Hofmann)
The Darkness of Wallis Simpson (2005) / Rose Tremain
The Royal Ghosts (2006) / Samrat Upadhyay


Post a Comment

<< Home